WAILW?!?! participant questions – July 2014-Set 1

During “Who Am I Living With?!?!” at the 2014 ADDA Conference, I asked participants to anonymously submit written questions for us to talk about.

Seeing and hearing each other’s questions is a good way to let us know we are not alone – knowing that I am not the only one dealing with a particular problem can be a big relief. It can give you a different perspective on the problem knowing that others are facing it too.

– How do I get my husband out of the T.V. (I mean, he’s addicted – every night, every minute he’s home) to help around the house, like even picking up after himself, putting dishes in the dishwasher, putting away his clothes, tools, etc.?

– How can we have conversations without defenses? to problem solve, short answers, acknowledging that he’s listening to me, hearing my emotions?

– I don’t have ADHD. Why does my partner who has ADHD leave stuff all over the house causing clutter?

– How can I encourage my partner to realize that when you set a meeting time and place, in general no two people show up at exactly the same time, so one needs to wait (hopefully a short time) for the other? It’s not fair that it’s always other people waiting for them (If they arrive before the other, they will routinely take a  walk somewhere else)

– Does intellectual recognition of a problem make a difference?

Leave a Reply

