ADHD Awareness Month Panel “What’s it like to be twice-exceptional?”

As part of ADHD Awareness Month, Suzanne and Matt have put together an event for October 22. The title is “What’s it like to be twice-exceptional?” The event include a panel of four (Geri Markel, Terry Matlen, Doug Harris, and me) who will talk about what it’s like to be successful in one or more areas of your life while coping with ADHD. 

I’m looking forward to it, especially  because it explores an area of ADHD that is a-typical. The familiar narrative is of people who can’t start or can’t finish things and who have significant trouble in school and careers. I wouldn’t say that Doug and I didn’t have troubles, but we defy the stereotype of being unable to complete things.

My own relationship to that question is this: I don’t feel “accomplished” because of any of my “accomplishments”.

Leave a Reply

