Share Your Story – low self-esteem

I’m working on a longer performance piece about Adult ADD and I’d like to ask you to share your stories. It’s important that we do that. We learn from each other than we aren’t the only ones who have messy desks or get mad at interruptions or feel we haven’t really done anything with our lives. Also, it can give our partners, friends, and the public insight into the adult side of ADD. We are dealing with different issues than kids or teens.

In this section, I’m asking for your stories about low self-esteem. Maybe that’s not the exact work for it. Maybe you’re successful, but feel like a fake? I’ve accomplished a lot in my life, but I don’t feel like it. I don’t focus on the 10 things I accomplished today, I focus on the 1000 that didn’t get done. I remember sitting in a counselor’s office, whining to her about how there was no point my writing skits since nobody would ever perform them. She reminded me that one of mine was being done by a church group that very weekend. That was a clue that something was wrong. I was living in a negative fantasy while outside, my life was going pretty darn well. Do you have a similar story? Do you enjoy your accomplishments or do they evaporate in the face of your failures? Do you let yourself make mistakes and learn from them without beating yourself up? Tell me your story.

To add your story, just click the word balloon above and to the right of this entry.

You can do it anonymously if you like, though I’d prefer to have your information so I can do follow up. If I end up using your story in a performance, it’ll be anonymous, so don’t worry about that!

 Thanks!
Leave a Reply

