Poem A Day April 9, 2010

prompt is “self-portrait”

Black and White Photograph
With Shiny Shoes and a Vest

Some night,
very late, very late
I would like to meet me
somewhere
and talk

Hearing me make music
or talk about God
or draw a picture
Would I think

“wow!”
or
would I think

“well, at least he’s trying”?

In the front room
is a photograph
of a six or seven-year old
me

He was fearless
happy
clueless

When I talk to him
I ask him
what was your secret?

He just smiles
He is a frozen moment in time
He won’t say anything
I know that

But He is me

I know what He would say

I am still in here, He would say
Some of your friends see Me, He would say

Just come and play with me.

Leave a Reply

